Spirit cup kicks goals in North-West Tasmania

Spirit cup kicks goals in North-West Tasmania

24 July 2013

Eleven north-west coast schools will be participating in this year’s Spirit Cup primary school football program.

Proudly sponsored by Spirit of Tasmania and managed by the Devonport Football Club, the program launches on Thursday 25 July at Byard Park, Devonport.

Spirit Cup is an Australian Rules primary school program for children in grades four, five and six from local schools developed to increase participation in Australian Rules football and sport in general.

Three games will be played every Thursday over eight weeks from 3.45pm - 4.45pm, with two weeks in reserve in case of bad weather.

The program is designed to be fun and participation-focused with no scores kept, no results and no finals.

Devonport Football Club General Manager Mark Fagan said: "The program has been running since 2011, when seven primary schools entered the program and 120 children participated.

“In 2012, nine primary schools entered and 180 children participated.

“In 2013, we are launching the program with a new name and a new sponsor and are expecting that number to increase again.”

Mr Fagan said the program was also the perfect support model to the local Auskick program.

“Over the past decade, the Devonport soccer and basketball clubs have been extremely successful at attracting large numbers of primary school children to their sport through junior programs. Aussie Rules has taken much of a back seat with this age group,” he said.

"It was identified by the Devonport Football Club that a primary school program was desperately needed in the area to increase participation at an early age.”

Spirit of Tasmania’s sponsorship support includes assisting with venue hire, a program manager, umpires and coaches, end of season function for the schools, jumper cleaning, St Johns Ambulance and Spirit Cup medallions for each child that participates in the program.

Schools participating are Sheffield Primary School, Our Lady of Lourdes Primary School, Latrobe Primary School, East Devonport Primary School, Miandetta Primary School, Ulverstone Primary School, Port Sorell Primary School, Hillcrest Primary School, Nixon Street Primary School, Devonport Primary School and Spreyton Primary School.



Contact: Soniya Fernandez
Communications Manager